## **Attachment 4**

## Election of Central Virginia Planning District Commission officers for 2021-2022

As per our bylaws, we rotate the Officers of the PDC annually alphabetically by jurisdiction. Following that rotation, the following members have agreed to serve for 2021-2022.

- 1. Treney Tweedy, Lynchburg, Chair,
- 2. Dwayne Tuggle, Amherst Town, Vice Chair

Typically, the PDC Treasurer is the City/Town Manager or County Administrator from the Chair's locality. Since the new City Manager will not start until August, it is recommended that current Treasurer Gary Shanaberger continue as Treasurer until the new City Manager comes onboard and we can discuss with the new City Manager about his interest in serving as our Treasurer for 2021-2022.

## Resolution of Appreciation to outgoing Chair Mayor Richard Conner

Whereas, Appomattox Mayor Richard Conner has served the Commission well as Chair during 2020-2021, and

Whereas, Mayor Conner's year was especially challenging due to the COVID-19 pandemic forcing the PDC to meet virtually throughout the year, and

Whereas, Mayor Conner kept our electronic meetings moving with effectiveness and humor, and

Whereas, during Mayor Conner's year as Chair the PDC assisted many of our member jurisdictions with successful grants, project management, transportation projects and clean water initiatives.

Now, therefore, be it resolved that the Central Virginia Planning District Commission recognizes Mayor Richard Conner for his service to the organization and to the region as Commission Chair and expresses our sincere appreciation and respect for Mayor Conner's work during a challenging time, and

Further resolves to instruct the PDC's Clerk to record this resolution of appreciation into the permanent record of the Commission and present the resolution of appreciation to Mayor Conner at a meeting of the Appomattox Town Council.

## **Recommended Action**

- 1. Elect Treney Tweedy, Lynchburg, Chair, and Dwayne Tuggle, Amherst Town, Vice Chair for 2021-2022
- 2. Approve a Resolution of Appreciation for outgoing Chair Mayor Richard Conner for his outstanding service to the Commission.
- 3. Recognize and thank Gary Shanaberger for his service as Treasurer during 2020-2021.